The 7 Chakras and why you should care about them

"Everything is energy and that's all there is to it. Match the frequency of the reality you want and you cannot help but get that reality. It can be no other way. This is not philosophy. This is physics."
- Albert Einstein
I've digested a plethora of spiritual books that, for me, confirmed what I knew and felt to be true. That our "inner world" created our outer world. That we're all made up of the same energy. We're all connected to the one universal energy, and that our energetic bodies are constantly interacting with this energy. We are always sending and receiving energy (information) - even though we can't see it. We are all energetic beings.

Open your mind

"If we worked on the assumption that what is accepted as true really is true, then there would be little hope for advance."
- Orville Wright, Inventor

Remember how it was thought that the world was flat? I'm just asking you to open your mind to the possibility that this whole idea of our energy and universal energy - is true. We just need to learn how to open up our own energy centres so that we are in "flow" and we can "plug in" to this universal energy. 

Chakra cleansing is not new, but so many people have been closed off to the idea as it seems a bit too "woo-woo". It's easy to close our minds to something that we can't actually see. But we know it's there - the energy. Think of radiowaves, microwaves, infrared, x-rays. If we understand how our own energy works and also understand how we can interact with the energy around us, we can really start to design and shape our lives. As Pam Grout (author of E2) wrote:

"We don't understand how this energy field works. We've heard rumours that praying turns it on, that good works keeps it going, but no one seems to know for sure. This guru tells us to chant. The next one suggests meditation. The one from last year insisted we clean up our thoughts and increase our vibrations. So which is it? Is the energy force really that vague and mysterious? What I'd like to suggest is that this invisible energy field is 100% reliable. It works every time".

The 7 Chakras

The Chakra system dates back thousands of years and originated in India.  In Sanskrit, the word chakra means “disk” or “wheel” and refers to the energy centres in your body. These wheels or disks of spinning energy each correspond to a certain area in your life:
  • Base Chakra relates to survival, security and stability. 
  • Sacral Chakra relates to joy, creativity, pleasure and worthiness.
  • Solar Plexus Chakra relates to personal power, willpower, courage and confidence.
  • Heart Chakra relates to relationships and our perceptions of love. 
  • Throat Chakra relates to self-expression. 
  • Third Eye Chakra relates to intuition, knowledge, wisdom and discernment.
  • Crown Chakra relates to our connection with something greater than ourselves (however you name that connection - God, Spirit, Light, Universal Energy, Higher Self)

Change your energy, change your life

These energy centres within you function at their best if they're balanced. If they are open and flowing - life tends to flow. Have you heard of Chi? Prana? It all refers to the same life energy. The life energy that animates us as humans. Energy exists regardless of us tapping into it or not, but wouldn't it be better if we "plugged in" to this infinite energy and used it for our benefit?

If chakras are unbalanced, their ability to receive, generate and distribute energy is compromised. Blocked, underactive or overactive chakras can be the cause of much of our unhappiness and life struggles. 

As your chakras become more balanced, the area of your life that relates to that chakra improves. 

I've put a brief snapshot below of the name of each chakra and examples of the feelings or issues you may experience if one of your chakras is underactive or overactive. I'll also be writing a blog post on each chakra in more detail - so be sure to keep an eye out for these.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published